Tadao Ando to Judge Chair Commission for MPavilion 10

Tags: , ,

The annual MPavilion Chair Commission is now open – and Tadao Ando, the Pritzker Prize-winning architect and MPavilion 10 designer, is set to select the competition winner.

The Chair Commission is a highlight of each MPavilion, with the winning design and practice featured onsite and profiled to an expansive network of local and international media, collaborators, partners and visitors during the season.

‘Over the last nine years, the MPavilion Chair Commission has been won by established and emerging designers from across the world,’ said MPavilion Creative Director Jen Zielinska. ‘We are thrilled that Tadao Ando has agreed to judge the competition in our milestone tenth year.’

On MPavilion 10, Ando has said his ‘design began with a desire to find a scene of eternity within the public space of the Queen Victoria Gardens, Melbourne. Eternal – not in material or structure – but in the memory of a landscape that will continue to live in people’s hearts.’

The selected design will be responsive to this unique process and approach – Ando’s MPavilion 10 design will be released 11 May – with human-centred comfort also a key consideration. The winning chair will be used across myriad events, from conversations and concerts to children’s programs, workshops and gatherings.

Previous MPavilion Chair Commissions include designs by BoardGrove Architects, Canberra Design Lab (pictured), Carme Pinós, Chris Connell, Craftspeople in Mumbai, India, nüüd studio, OMA and Sean Godsell.

Open from 27 April 2023, the MPavilion Chair Commission competition will close at 5pm Friday 2 June 2023. We cannot wait to see what you conjure – please view brief and submission information here.

Wominjeka (Welcome). We acknowledge the people of the Eastern Kulin Nations as the traditional custodians of the land on which we meet. We pay our respects to the land, their ancestors and their elders—past, present and to the future.